HomeAAPI Heritage MonthBiden-Harris to join closing celebration of AANHPI Heritage Month

Biden-Harris to join closing celebration of AANHPI Heritage Month

A star-studded line up from Hollywood, Broadway and politics will take part Monday in a closing celebration of Asian American Native Hawaiian Pacific Islander Heritage Month.

President Joe Biden, along with First Lady Jill Biden will be joined by Vice President Kamala Harris and Second Gentleman Douglas Emhoff for an evening celebrating the diversity and culture of the AANHPI communities.

The night promises to uplift AA and NHPI voices, acknowledge the harm and suffering anti-Asian violence has caused this year, and look toward a future of continued healing, strength, and solidarity.

Those participating include Yo Yo Ma, Lea Salonga, Auliʻi Cravalho, Sally Wen Mao, Daniel Dae Kim,  Kal Penn, Phillipa Soo, and Tamlyn Tomita.

Some of the highest profile Asian Americans in politics on both sides of the aisle will also take part such as Congresswoman Judy Chu (CA-27), Secretary Elaine Chao, U.S. Surgeon General Vivek Murthy, Sen Tammy Duckworth (D-IL), Rep Andy Kim (NJ-3), Rep Young Kim (CA-39), Rep Grace Meng (NY-6) and Rep Michelle Steel (CA-48).

The evening is produced by the Center for Asian American Media, Kontent Films, Pacific Islanders in Communications, and the Corporation of Public Broadcasting.

Amna Nawaz of PBS will host.

The one-hour program will stream live on Facebook and YouTube on May 31 at 8 PM ET/5 PM PT/2 PM HT.

AsAmNews has Asian America in its heart. We’re an all-volunteer effort of dedicated staff and interns. Check out our new Instagram account. Go to our  Twitter feed and Facebook page for more content. Please consider interning, joining our staff, or submitting a story or making a contribution.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Latest

Worth the Time

Must Read

Latest

A Twitter list by @AsAmNews