HomeAsian AmericansStop AAPI Hate Leaders, Naomi Osaka And More Named to Time 100...

Stop AAPI Hate Leaders, Naomi Osaka And More Named to Time 100 List

Several influential Asians, including the leaders behind the Stop AAPI Hate movement, have been named to the TIME100 annual list of the 100 most influential people in the world. 

TIME has named Stop AAPI Hate co-founders, Cynthia Choi, Manjusha Kulkarni and Russell Jeung to the list, which was released on Wednesday.

“It is a great honor to be recognized for this award among this list of influential leaders,” Manjusha Kulkarni said in a press release. “This work would not be possible without the bravery and strength of our respondents and the AAPI community at large, and we want to thank them for their willingness to speak out against injustice. This award is a testament to the fact that our advocacy work is being valued, and it validates our fight against Anti-Asian hate.”

Several other Asian leaders and celebrities were included in the list, such as:

  • Naomi Osaka, tennis player
  • Steven Yuen, actor
  • Chloe Zhao, director
  • Bowen Yang, actor
  • Shohei Ohtani, baseball player
  • Mamata Banerjee, politician
  • and many more

A complete list of the Asians included in Time100’s most influential people can be viewed here.

AsAmNews has Asian America in its heart. We’re an all-volunteer effort of dedicated staff and interns. Check out our new Instagram account. Go to our Twitter feed and Facebook page for more content. Please consider interning, joining our staff, or submitting a story or making a contribution.  

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.


Worth the Time

Must Read


A Twitter list by @AsAmNews